Week 11: 3d Production

Model Progress

For my model I started again with it for my character because I found the previous attempts looked off and I wanted to make sure it looked similar to the design shapes that I had wanted. The character has broad shoulders and short legs. I drew out a  small plan sheet for my model which will help me model my character using the maya software.

plan sheet

Once I had drew the plans for the character on the piece of paper I then moved onto adding the plan sheet to maya to start creating the model.Maya plan sheet

I then started off creating my new model by using a small cubic shape which I then went onto increasing its size and adding more divisions into the shape. This then will allow me to extrude more out of the shapes creating the other limbs for the body of the character.

print 2 maya

I used the vertex mode to pull out the first shape making it match the plan sheet. The reason why the plan sheet was facing the side aswell is so that I could also shape out the characters body from the side view. I found the plan sheet was getting in the way alot when moving the shapes around so by using the view button I switched it so that I couldn’t see the plan sheet while modelling the rest of the characters body.prin 4

After spending time creating the basic shape for my character I found that he looked to boxed in and that I needed to use the geometry tool that I had previously used on creating the hand model. Also I set the maya to mirror my work by using the special duplicate tool this allowed me to add curves on both sides of the body at the same time so that the model looked symmetrical.print screen 3

Then I started to think about how to angle certain features of his body so that nothing looked out of place or to abnormal. So I curved his legs round to try and make him look like he was standing facing towards the camera.

screen 6

Finally I looked at adding the eyes and the mouth. So I zoomed into the models face and tried to extrude his eye sockets and added a small gap for where his mouth needs to be. This gap was important for my character I think because of how far his jaw comes out helps make him a bit more unique.

prin 5

Once I was fairly happy with how he looks I could then move onto adding his hands and adding clothes to the final model.

screen 7

For my characters clothes I was thinking he might have shorts with a tie on. I think this was the look I was previously trying to get in the character development module. I think id make the shorts ripped and rough on my character aswell. For the characters body texture I think that it would suit him being a greyish colour considering that he is a giant. I might try other colours when testing out his design.

Below I have drew out mini concept sketches showing my characters body structure wearing the clothing that I am thinking on giving him. I have also thought about some other key features about his body which is what his feet look like and how tall he is.

 

Concept art

Concept art helps flow the ideas of the character, it helps generates ideas on to paper. It is a strong method to draw out basic ideas on what you might want the character to look like and feel. It also helps you generate the work flow to make decisions how things will look visual. Such as colour or shape and size. Concept art can be created in a number of different ways with artists using watercolour, digital art and other forms of media. It is one of the most important elements used for films and games because it helps create the characters which are needed. Also the first attempt might not always be the final attempt which means artists are at a constant battle to keep creating the concept art until they are fully happy with the outcome of the character. I think the more unique you make your character the more likely is that it will be a strong character to use because you’ll be able to pick up from its features and remember it.

Below is an example of character concept art that I have found to help me generate a better understanding on how the concept art should look.

Reference: https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiw6LPR47PMAhWCKsAKHbQFBlYQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fblogs.unity3d.com%2F2015%2F06%2F15%2Fmaking-of-the-blacksmith-concept-and-art-production%2F&bvm=bv.120853415,d.ZGg&psig=AFQjCNG7jeRBjiFNL9Z2hwJTb3yjYQqcnQ&ust=1462016927259454

3D Animation

Animation is used in alot of modern day entertainment, it is used for films, games and TV. It is a strong form of art because it creates movement to the art work. It is important to the world because it allows things to happen within story’s that we might not be able to create in reality. It creates illusions and brings characters or creatures to life. Over the years we have found that 3d animation has been on the increase and it will be in demand over the years due to the popularity of films and games being on the growth. This means that there will be a greater job market for artists.

Anatomy

Anatomy is important to think about when creating the model for a character. This is because you will need to know the basic understanding where the joints are and where parts of the body need to be sculpted out. Below is image that I have found online that will help me create my model. I will do this by learning where the body bends and wear the joints move this will then help prevent the body for my model from ripping or causing problems with the way it moves.

Leave a Reply

