Week 6: Compositing

Development and plan

Animation

This week I started to create my tentacle animation that I wanted to add into my scene. After looking through previous research I had done I developed a tentacle like animation. I created a cylinder which I then moulded into a tentacle. After that I went onto adding the skeleton so that I could rig the tentacle to create the animation that I was after.

After creating the animation in the timeline I then moved onto to adding colour to the animation. Which meant that I would have to apply a texture material to my work for it to work. I found that I had to use a material tone and then apply the texture on top. Once I had found the tentacle texture that I was after I then added it to the animation. But this left the tentacle being fully covered in that one texture. Which meant I would have to select certain faces on the tentacle model to then colour the back of it.

Animation re do

After creating the first animation of the tentacle I found it to not look how I wanted. So I re did the animation from scratch on maya. But this time I moulded the animation better and made the tentacle look visually smoother. This gave the tentacle a more realistic look that I wanted. I also had to re do the animation, so I looked for a reference online to try and replicate the movement of a tentacle. Which I found an animated Kraken in the film pirates of the Caribbean. I found this to be great reference because they managed to capture the movement of the tentacles.

Then finally I had created the tentacle animation that I wanted for my creative composition project.

I’m really happy with the final out come for my animated tentacle. I managed to get it to how I wanted and managed to make it look smooth and realistic. I think the only problem I would have with it is that it might not look right in the scene because of the lighting of the animation.

 

Texture

Here are the textures that I had found online that I used on my animation. I had to fit them and re size them to try and get the look I wanted for my work.

 

Here is a drawing of the tentacle I have tried to design. After animating the tentacle I found that It is dosnt have the same movement as a real life tentacle. This means that I might have to re do the tentacles animation. Ive also learnt that I should think about when and where I want the tentacle to move on the live action layer. So that both can blend together without them looking abit of.

image

I have also tried to recreate the tentacle being in a certain shot within the scene. With angle ill be using shown in the storyboard below. Giving an idea on where I want things to be in the scene. Id have the floor to be rocky where we see the tentacle bursting out. Then in the background we would have the ocean and the sky.

image

image

image

Camera shots
Close ups on the facial reaction
Wide shots on the background and city
Wide shot on the tentacle bursting out with a follow or a over shoulder shot onto the tentacle.
Medium shot from behind so that we can see where the person is going.
Long shot

I also need to stick to the 180 degree rule, this rule is so that the camera is always at a 180 degree angle when making the scene. This is becuase if it was filmed at one side of a person and then all of a sudden it switches to ther other side of him it will confuse the audience and ruin the illusion of the story.

Matte Painting

Matte painting is the environment or landscape that is created in the background for a film or game. It allows the story to generate its world better for the audience to understand where it is set. It is normally an environment that has no excistence in life or would be too expensive for them to try and re create. For example the film the Martian in 2015, we see alot of matte paintings being used for the scenary on mars this is becuase they wouldnt be able to film on mars and it is alot quicker to create a matte painting.
image

image

image

I really like how matte painting look I think they show a realistic aporoach to a differents worlds. This is something that I might add as one as my layers for my projects. Id have to create this through photoshop.

The Martian matte painting
image

The film the martian has a lot of visual effects being used within the film. We see constant visual effects being used throughout the film. From reflections on the astronuats helmet to the scenary being green screened. I think the film is a great example on how the use of visual effects can have a big impact on films. 50 of the most grossing films have the use of visual effects.

image

Another great example visual effects is the film Avatar. This film has so much visual effects being used. From animated creatured to bright coloured scenary. There were that many trees that were created that they had to put the less detailed tree behind the high detailed ones becuase of how long it was taking them. We also see helicopters being animated often becuase it is cheaper for film makers to create animated ones for a big film. They can duplicate them and add them onto more layers for the film.

image

Tests

Here I had created more tests for my work, this really helped me get a better understanding on how I wanted the final shot to look and where I should have the camera angle.

Here is a background I tried to create for a destroyed city. This helped me understand where to position the effects and layers for my work. I used a range of layers for this to test out how the work would look and where I could position things. I used this green screen footage to give me a rough idea on how I could apply to footage to the other layers being used.

After re watching this test ive found that I should resize the fire effects and shrink them a little bit more, this is because after having feed back from others I’ve learnt that the fire may be too big and dosnt look right for my still image.

Media for reference or production

hong-kong-above-skyline-via-flickr

I found these large images of city’s because it will give me more freedom on where I want the camera to be and the movement of the scene.

new-york-city-H

city-768437_960_720

Skyline Panama City
Skyline Panama City

a3688c1cd0d5f7c7ff090b57e959f986DESTROYED-CITYDestroyed-City-HD-Wallpaper4-Download13424533777_de8ae92123_zcanal-rocks-WA-2

I found this video of the waves of the ocean because it had a really good angle which I might be able to add in one of my shots with my project. This scene will be set where we would first encounter the tentacle.

Textures

Here are a range of materials of textures and objects I could use to add into my production. Id have to mask out the objects using adobe after effects. Also id have to resize and adjust some textures to fit in place for my work.

buildings_buildings_0096_01_previewbuildings_buildings_0107_01_previewbuildings_constructions_0001_01_previewbuildings_constructions_0002_01_previewnature_branch_0013_01_previewground_slope_0056_01_previewground_slope_0058_01_previewground_stone_ground_0050_01_previewground_stone_ground_0075_01_previewsoil_sand_0019_01_previewsoil_sand_0069_01_preview

http://texturelib.com/#!/category/?path=/Textures/ground/slope

Storyboard plan

Here is my storyboard that I have created for my scene. I have cut down to each camera angle that I want to try and capture for my footage and I have took a guess on how long it will be. I think it will be around 35 seconds which will be enough for my work but I might edit out bits I might not need for my final video.

For the first part I would have the actor walk onto the scene looking into the distance over the ocean. Then we get a close up of his face and a earthquake suddenly happens. From this we see his confused reaction on wondering what is going on. Next we see a crack appear in the floor which then leads to the animated tentacle that I designed and created burst out from beneath the ground. Next we see the actor trying to get to the other side of the rocks without being hit by the tentacle. After we see another close up of the actors face reaction. Then we move further on where we see the actor walk to the edge of the rock. The camera will be from the side behind view of the character still sticking to the 180 degree rule. This then follows through and looks onto the city. Then finally we get a wide shot of the city where can see how destroyed it is with effects being used.

 

I’m happy with this storyboard plan because it will help me create the filming for my video when filming in the green screen room. Using the stroryboard that I have created I think that it should be around 20-35 seconds long, as long as I get the camera shots I need.

Summary

A man is walking on some rocks near a ocean. Then suddenly he is being atracked by this kraken like creature witch tries to knock him off. Then we see him get past it and walk away. We then see him look over the cliff edge to find that the city has been destroyed by something.

Layers for screen

Layer 1. Still image of city (masked)

Layer 2. Video of ocean (masked)

Layer 3. Visual effects of fire, smoke etc…

Layer 4. Still images. Rocks etc…

Layer 5. Live action footage

Layer 6: Animaion of tentacle

 

This video I have used for reference to give me more ideas on how city’s look when they get attacked by a creature of some sort.

Materials for production

Here are green screen effects that I have found that I could add to my project. I want to use the exploding rocks effect for the tentacle bursting out of the floor.

I will use the fire effects that I have found on my project because they will allow me to create the destroyed look to my footage that I want to create for the scene.

I also found this dark thick smoke that I could apply aswell which  will help create the look I am after.

I looked for even more fire effects that I could use for my work, here were a range that I had found that I can re size and add to building in the background scene.

Below is a video that I have found that will help me understand where the destruction takes place in films and how it looks on buildings. I’ve also used this for guidance on the types of effect being used and where to combine effects and where the shots of the camera should be for the footage.

Visual effects are computer altered or generated effects that you can apply to films. They can be composited onto the scene which then means they would need to be blended into the shot do that they don’t look out of place. You are able to duplicate the effects and change the ways things look using visual effects. Where as special effects is often the practical side of the effects, from creating props or making the effects from scratch then filming them within the live footage. Special effects called also cover the sound, injurys, wind, lighting and more. Visual effects covers the layers which are added to the film to give its final look, which means animation, matte painting, green screen effects and so much more. Industries still use both when creating film becuase they both have a big role to play when creating upto date films.

This film helps show the difference between visual effects and special effects. With special effects actually making the effect and then the visual effect altering the special effect.

This video shows a breakdown of before and after the effects. It shows the layers being put together. Such as the there being a part with a ambulance in the foreground, a helicopter being its own layer and the a city in the background. This video has gave me a much better understanding on where the layers for the scene should be placed so that they all look like they should be apart of each other and not look out of place.

Leave a Reply

